If you are no longer using an asset, but want to retain the asset history. It is better to make the asset inactive instead of deleting it. From the asset details page, click Make Inactive
The inactive asset is now available in the Inactive tab on the asset dashboard.
You can re-activate an asset by clicking Make Active from the asset details page.